Beloved Enemy

Posted 2 May 2014 by Kim in Book Review / 0 Comments

Beloved EnemyBeloved Enemy by Lacy Yager
Series: Unholy Alliance #3
Published by Lacy Williams Books on 2014-03-31
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 147
Source: NetGalley | eARC

FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Buy/Shelve it: AmazonB&NAudible

divider

From the back cover...

divider

From the back cover...

She's the unlikeliest vampire hunter ever. A scientist.

Seventeen-year-old science prodigy Genevieve Quinn never thought she would be kidnapped from her college campus by a vampire. Or that said vampire would want her help on a science project. Genevieve has no intention of complying, but when an escape attempt turns deadly, it is a vampire that comes to her rescue.

Vampire Chad Matthews is an atypical specimen. He’s good-looking, in a dangerous kind of way. But that’s not what attracts Genevieve… it’s the shadows behind his eyes. As Genevieve and Chad team up to find a way to defeat a monster even worse than killer vampires, she discovers that not everything can be explained by science—like falling in love.

My Review

As in the other books, we meet some new characters this time and get to know others a lot better.  This book focuses on Genevieve, a brilliant and slightly nerdy MIT student, and Chad, a somewhat broken vampire.  Genevieve really blossoms in this story, but even her growth doesn’t make her lose the most endearing part of her… her social awkwardness that makes her so cute.  I like that Chad wasn’t created to be vampire perfection.  Instead, he had doubts and he was, at least in his own eyes, broken.  It was a great twist to the standard YA romantic hero.

Fans of  Maggie and Shane are going to be disappointed because there is little of them in this book.  But the story is growing and it is obvious that they will be back.  I like this way of building the story, getting different perspectives in different books by focusing on different characters.  There is a lot of action and a whole lot of mystery and intrigue building and building.  I can’t wait to see where it goes next!

Things to love…

  • Genevieve.  I like that she finds her own strengths and starts to appreciate herself.
  • Anticipation.  The story is building to a climax, adding layers with each book!

Things I wanted more/less of…

  • Chloe, Maggie, and Shane.  These three are fan favorites and even though they aren’t the center of the story right now, I wish there had been a little more of them.

Some Quotastic Goodness

My chest is so tight, it hurts.  I pant, trying to keep quiet when I want to gasp.  I wish I had a paper bag, but my captors have taken everything from me- most importantly, my freedom (Loc. 37).

And holding her against me as we hung off the side of that train… I felt something (Loc. 751).

It’s a ton of pressure on her, putting the lives of so many humans, and our group in particular, on Genevieve.  But she hasn’t complained once.  She’s a fighter, she just fights with a unique set of tools, the best of  which is her exquisite mind (Loc. 1793).

My Recommendation

This is a great series.  Vamps and mystery and romance… what more could you want?!  Next up is Delicate Accord, due out in the summer of 2014.  This will be Lily and Caleb’s story.

4Mugs

About Lacy Yager

LACY YAGER married her college sweetheart and became Lacy Williams. She also writes Inspirational romance under her married name. As the oldest of three siblings, Lacy exhibits most of the typical first-child characteristics and has always loved to boss around her younger siblings. Now that she’s married with kids, she has plenty of people to play house with!

During high school, Lacy completed the course WRITING FOR CHILDREN AND TEENAGERS from the Institute of Children’s Literature. After she graduated college, Lacy got serious about her writing career and joined the American Christian Fiction Writers. When presented with the opportunity to write mainstream YA with her younger sister, Lacy couldn’t say no.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags: , , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply

Click to Insert Smiley

SmileBig SmileGrinLaughFrownBig FrownCryNeutralWinkKissRazzChicCoolAngryReally AngryConfusedQuestionThinkingPainShockYesNoLOLSillyBeautyLashesCuteShyBlushKissedIn LoveDroolGiggleSnickerHeh!SmirkWiltWeepIDKStruggleSide FrownDazedHypnotizedSweatEek!Roll EyesSarcasmDisdainSmugMoney MouthFoot in MouthShut MouthQuietShameBeat UpMeanEvil GrinGrit TeethShoutPissed OffReally PissedMad RazzDrunken RazzSickYawnSleepyDanceClapJumpHandshakeHigh FiveHug LeftHug RightKiss BlowKissingByeGo AwayCall MeOn the PhoneSecretMeetingWavingStopTime OutTalk to the HandLoserLyingDOH!Fingers CrossedWaitingSuspenseTremblePrayWorshipStarvingEatVictoryCurseAlienAngelClownCowboyCyclopsDevilDoctorFemale FighterMale FighterMohawkMusicNerdPartyPirateSkywalkerSnowmanSoldierVampireZombie KillerGhostSkeletonBunnyCatCat 2ChickChickenChicken 2CowCow 2DogDog 2DuckGoatHippoKoalaLionMonkeyMonkey 2MousePandaPigPig 2SheepSheep 2ReindeerSnailTigerTurtleBeerDrinkLiquorCoffeeCakePizzaWatermelonBowlPlateCanFemaleMaleHeartBroken HeartRoseDead RosePeaceYin YangUS FlagMoonStarSunCloudyRainThunderUmbrellaRainbowMusic NoteAirplaneCarIslandAnnouncebrbMailCellPhoneCameraFilmTVClockLampSearchCoinsComputerConsolePresentSoccerCloverPumpkinBombHammerKnifeHandcuffsPillPoopCigarette