Seed

Posted 2 January 2012 by Kim in Book Review / 0 Comments

SeedSeed by Ania Ahlborn
Published by Ania Ahlborn on 2011-05-28
Genres: Fantasy, Horror, Mystery & Thrillers
Pages: 246
Source: personal purchase | eBook
Buy/Shelve it: AmazonB&NAudible

divider

From the back cover...

divider

From the back cover...

Fans of Stephen King, Jack Kilborn, and Blake Crouch… prepare to meet the Devil.

In the vine-twisted swamps of Louisiana, the shadows have teeth.

Jack Winter has spent his entire life running from something no one else can see. His childhood is his darkest secret, but after a near fatal accident along a deserted road, the darkness he was sure he’d escaped rears its ugly head… and smiles.

But this time, he isn’t the only one who sees the soulless eyes of his past. This time, his six-year-old daughter Charlie leans into his ear and whispers: Daddy, I saw it too.

And then she begins to change.

Faced with reliving the nightmares of his childhood, Jack watches his daughter spiral into the shadows that had nearly consumed him twenty years before. 

But Charlie isn’t the only one who’s changing. 

Jack never outran the darkness. It’s been with him all along. 

And it’s hungrier than ever. 

A new breed of dark fiction: the subtlety of Seed will haunt you, and the end will wickedly satisfy.

My Review

Seed is an amazing read, full of thrills and suspense and gore, all the things necessary for an fantastic horror novel.  The creepy factor for this book was through the roof, set in the perfectly gothic southern Louisiana .  This isn’t Hollywood horror, but dark and evil, twisting and insidious and eerily subtle.  Jack’s history was revealed little by little, lending to the suspense that built throughout the story.  I loved Jack who tried so hard to be something other than what he was, always carrying the air of a tortured man.  Charlie was about as creepy as possible, absolutely chilling throughout the story.  But the ending is what made the story for me.  Not your typical, “tie up the loose ends” kind of ending, but a thrilling one, chilling to the bone.

My Recommendation

Fantastic read!  Great chilling read!

About Ania Ahlborn

Born in Ciechanow Poland, Ania’s earliest childhood memory is of crawling through a hole in the chain link fence that separated her family home from the large wooded cemetery next door. She’d spend hours among the headstones, breaking up bouquets of silk flowers so that everyone had their equal share. She’s been drawn to the spookier things in life ever since.

Ania has been dabbling in fiction since the age of twelve. She attended the University of New Mexico, where she received her BA in creative writing. ‘Seed’ is her first published work.

Her favorite authors include Stephen King, Brett Easton Ellis, and Poppy Z. Brite.

Beyond writing, Ania enjoys gourmet cooking, baking, movies, drawing, and traveling. She currently resides in Albuquerque with her husband and two dogs, Beau the Scottie and Galaxy the Yorkie.

Tags: , , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply

Click to Insert Smiley

SmileBig SmileGrinLaughFrownBig FrownCryNeutralWinkKissRazzChicCoolAngryReally AngryConfusedQuestionThinkingPainShockYesNoLOLSillyBeautyLashesCuteShyBlushKissedIn LoveDroolGiggleSnickerHeh!SmirkWiltWeepIDKStruggleSide FrownDazedHypnotizedSweatEek!Roll EyesSarcasmDisdainSmugMoney MouthFoot in MouthShut MouthQuietShameBeat UpMeanEvil GrinGrit TeethShoutPissed OffReally PissedMad RazzDrunken RazzSickYawnSleepyDanceClapJumpHandshakeHigh FiveHug LeftHug RightKiss BlowKissingByeGo AwayCall MeOn the PhoneSecretMeetingWavingStopTime OutTalk to the HandLoserLyingDOH!Fingers CrossedWaitingSuspenseTremblePrayWorshipStarvingEatVictoryCurseAlienAngelClownCowboyCyclopsDevilDoctorFemale FighterMale FighterMohawkMusicNerdPartyPirateSkywalkerSnowmanSoldierVampireZombie KillerGhostSkeletonBunnyCatCat 2ChickChickenChicken 2CowCow 2DogDog 2DuckGoatHippoKoalaLionMonkeyMonkey 2MousePandaPigPig 2SheepSheep 2ReindeerSnailTigerTurtleBeerDrinkLiquorCoffeeCakePizzaWatermelonBowlPlateCanFemaleMaleHeartBroken HeartRoseDead RosePeaceYin YangUS FlagMoonStarSunCloudyRainThunderUmbrellaRainbowMusic NoteAirplaneCarIslandAnnouncebrbMailCellPhoneCameraFilmTVClockLampSearchCoinsComputerConsolePresentSoccerCloverPumpkinBombHammerKnifeHandcuffsPillPoopCigarette